Best places to go in Kansas City

Being from the great city of Kansas City, Missouri that is, I am often asked by friends and co-workers for the best places to go during a weekend vacation. After typing these out about 17 times in Slack or via text, I figured why not make it official. Most these are located in downtown area or at least in a nice stones throw distance. Sorry KCK, my heart is with MO.

KC has more other amazing places but these are the ones that I think visitors will get the most bang for their buck in quality, uniqueness and entertainment. This list will update over time I am sure, but here is my stab at them.

 

Coffee

Quay Coffee (River Market) – http://quaycoffee.com/

Thou Mayest (Crossroads) – http://www.thoumayest.com/

Oddly Correct (Westport) – http://oddlycorrect.com/

 

Breakfast

The City Diner (River Market) – http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-city-diner-kansas-city

Succotash (Crossroads/Midtown) – http://www.succotashkc.com/

Happy Gillis (Columbus Park) – http://happygillis.com/

 

BBQ

Q39 (Westport) – https://q39kc.com/

Charbar (Westport) – http://charbarkc.com/

Joe’s Kansas City ( the only Kansas City, Kansas place) – http://www.joeskc.com/

 

Fine Dining

The Rieger Hotel (Crossroads) – http://www.theriegerkc.com/manifesto/

The Majestic (Downtown) – http://www.majestickc.com/

Gram & Dun (Plaza) – http://gramanddun.com/

 

Cocktails

Green Lady Lounge (Crossroads) – http://www.greenladylounge.com/

Doughnut Lounge (Westport) – http://doughnutlounge.com/

Manifesto (Crossroads) – http://www.theriegerkc.com/manifesto/

 

Beers

Harry’s Country Club (River Market) – http://harryscountryclub.com/

Flying Saucer (Power and Light) – http://www.beerknurd.com/locations/kansas-city-flying-saucer

Bier Station (Waldo) – http://www.bierstation.com/

 

Dives

Fred P Otts (Plaza) – http://fredpottskc.com/

Dave’s Stagecoach Inn (White Russian, Westport) – http://www.yelp.com/biz/daves-stagecoach-inn-kansas-city

 

Late night/food after many drinks

YJ’s (24/7 for breakfast, Crossroads) – http://yjs-snackbar.com/

Westport Flea Market (burgers, Westport) – http://westportfleamarket.com/

Town Topic (24/7 dinner style burgers, Crossroads) – http://www.towntopic.com/

 

Wings

The Peanut (Downtown & Plaza) – http://www.peanutkc.com/

Westport Ale House (Westport) – http://www.yelp.com/biz/westport-ale-house-kansas-city

Q39 (Westport) – https://q39kc.com/

 

Have suggestions? Leave a comment!

4 thoughts on “Best places to go in Kansas City

Leave a Reply